Nominations Committee Report to Board for January 6, 2025 Meeting

From: Nominations Committee: Kent Snyder, Jane Monson, Todd Zanitz, Jessie Burke, Andrew Baker
Date: December 23, 2024
Subject: Recommended Slate for President and Executive Committee for 2025

The Nominations Committee was selected by the Board at its October meeting. The Bylaws charge the committee to "seek out and interview potential candidates for the Executive Committee and President positions, selecting a slate of candidates who are broadly representative of the full membership of District 4 neighborhood associations in geography, population size, character, and interests."

The committee contacted all members of the Board via email and/or phone. Twelve members expressed interest in serving on the Executive Committee including one who is interested in serving as President. The committee used the geographic, demographic, and neighborhood characteristics data shown on the attached chart to reduce the slate to 9 board members, including one for President.

The committee recommends the following board members be elected for President and the Executive Committee (that Committee then selects the Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer from amongst themselves):

- 1. President: Jessie Burke
- 2. Executive Committee: Gary Berger
- 3. Executive Committee: Margo Howell
- 4. Executive Committee: David Dugan
- 5. Executive Committee: Vadim Mozyrsky
- 6. Executive Committee: Kent Snyder
- 7. Executive Committee: Ron Bushner
- 8. Executive Committee: Leslie Hammond
- 9. Executive Committee: Beth Omansky

Please see the attached chart for information about geographic location, population, demographics, and general characteristics of the candidates.

Also, the relevant provisions of Section IX of the Bylaws are included on the attachment.

	District 4 Coalition Recommended Slate for President & Executive Committee								Characteristics of the Neighborhoods			
	Interested in Exec Committee		D4C Board Member	Neighborhood Association	Geographic Area	Population	% Racial/Ethnic Minority	% Home Ownership	% of persons living in households at or below the poverty line	Median household income	General Description	
1	Yes	Yes	Jessie Burke	Old Town Community Association	NW-SW	4,159	34	16	33	\$25K	Dense Residential; Business	
2	Yes		Gary Berger	Hillside NA	NW	2,405	18	77	5	\$164K	Suburb; Park	
3	Yes		Margo Howell	Portland Downtown NA	SW	14,127	34	18	29	\$50K	Business; Dense Residential	
4	Yes		David Dugan	Sellwood NA (SMILE)	SE	13,940	29	52	12	\$80K	Dense Suburb; Business	
5	Yes		Vadim Mozyrsky	Goose Hollow Foothills League	NW	7,333	30	28	23	\$72K	Mixed residential & business	
6	Yes		Kent Snyder	Collins View NA	S-SW	3,265	24	87	7	\$154K	Suburb; Park; Academic	
7	Yes		Ron Bushner	Marshall Park NA	SW	1,493	14	89	5	\$145K	Suburb; Park	
8	Yes		Leslie Hammond	Hayhurst NA	SW	5,649	20	61	8	\$109K	Suburb	
9	Yes		Beth Omansky	Multnomah NA	SW	8,395	25	52	8	\$89K	Mixed residential & business	

Bylaws Section IX – Executive Committee and Officer Election Procedures:

"... This Nominating Committee shall seek out and interview potential candidates for the Executive Committee and President positions, selecting a slate of candidates who are broadly representative of the full membership of District 4 neighborhood associations in geography, population size, character, and interests.

The Nominating Committee shall present this slate of candidates at the following Board Meeting (one month before the Annual Meeting).

Elections for the Executive Committee and President will generally be held at the Annual Meeting. The seated Executive Committee members will then elect the non-President officers from among the remaining Executive Committee members.

Additional nominations of eligible currently-serving Board members can be made before voting, with each nomination requiring a second.

At the close of nominations, the ballot will be modified by each voting member to include any nominees added to the printed slate of candidates.

Ballots shall be counted by computer application or District 4 Coalition staff.

If no position is contested, the Board may adopt a slate of candidates without a written ballot."